• Select a School
  • Language

FES-School of the Year

Fairfield Elementary is "School of the Year"
Posted on 08/12/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Fairfield Elementary is "School of the Year"On August 3, 2016, teachers and administrators from Fairfield were on hand in Wichita to receive a very special award from Senator Jerry Moran and the Kansas Reading Roadmap Organization. Fairfield Elementary was awarded the “Kansas School of the Year” among all Kansas Reading Roadmap schools for having the highest student reading achievement for the 2015-2016 school year. Over 90 percent of all Fairfield K-3 students read at or above grade level. This is Fairfield’s second year in the Kansas Reading Roadmap (KRR) cycle; students have shown extraordinary improvement under the new program. The KRR program merges a Kansas-version Multi-tier System of Supports (MTSS) model with aligned supplemental afterschool, summer, and family engagement programs and interventions.  Through the program, schools increase children testing at benchmark and drastically decrease the number of struggling students. The Reading Roadmap is a whole school solution for increasing reading proficiency.

The program was introduced to Fairfield by Superintendent Nathan Reed. The Fairfield KRR Coordinator is Kate Combs. Also helping in program implementation and organization is Title One Teacher Jessica Mathes and Principal Betsy McKinney. Classroom teachers who helped their students achieve these goals include Janice Williams, Debra Zongker, Laurie Zink, Sheena Albers, Cindy Roth, Lee Odell, Missy Salazar, Kendra Nisly, Pat Hiebert, Jacqueline Nutsch, Jenny Welker, Sara Parsons, Cindy Childs, Laci Radke, Danielle Schweizer, and Natalie Stramel. Also a huge thank-you goes out to everyone who worked with our students: paraprofessionals, Senior Falcon Volunteers, FHS Student Aides, parents, family members, and many more people! Most of all thanks to our students for all of their hard work!  Congratulations on this terrific award!